Safety - at the heart of all our thinking

The integral safety concept from Mercedes-Benz divides vehicle safety into four phases:

Phase 1: safe driving

Phase 2: in critical situations

Phase 3: in an accident

Phase 4: after an accident

To reduce consequential damage after an accident and support the work of the rescue services, a number of different actions are initiated, depending on the type and severity of the accident:

  • Optimum protection: The engine can be turned off automatically and the fuel supply can be cut off.
  • Conspicuous lighting: the hazard warning lights and emergency interior lights can be automatically activated, so as to reduce the risk of subsequent accidents and to make finding the vehicle easier.
  • Getting out in an emergency: the door locking mechanism can be automatically released.

[1] Standard equipment for GL 500 4MATIC

Recommend page



Facts and figures

Advice and purchase