Safety – the keynote

The integral safety concept from Mercedes-Benz divides vehicle safety into four phases.

Phase 1: safe driving

Phase 2: in critical situations

Phase 3: in an accident

Phase 4: after an accident

To reduce consequential damage after an accident and support the work of the rescue services, a number of different actions are initiated, depending on the type and severity of the accident:

  • Greatest possible protection: The engine can be turned off automatically, the doors automatically unlocked and the fuel supply cut off.
  • Safe lighting: the hazard warning lights and emergency interior lights can be automatically activated, so as to reduce the risk of subsequent accidents and to make finding the vehicle easier.
  • Measure to aid rescue: integral crash joints between the wing and the door can make opening the doors after a frontal collision easier.

[1] Part of the Driving Assistance package Plus.

Recommend page